Ascend


User Profile Image

ScubaDuper

Joined Jun 2017
33 Reviews
Dive Shop Icon 0 Shops added
Dive Flag 1 Site added
4 Photos

helpful upvote 15 Helpful votes

Total Scuba Points: 1,735

Master Reviewer

Learn more about Scuba Points

ScubaDuper's Contributions

Rating

Helpful Votes

Scuba Points

Dive Shop Icon Seasport Divers, Kauai

"Seasport Tank Rentals"

We rented tanks and weights here for a good deal. Was good for exchanging tanks each day. Didn't do any boat dives with the company so can't speak to that. Would rent tanks here again.... Show More Mar. 24, 2018

0 helpful review

50

Dive Shop Icon Bubbles Below Scuba Charters, Kauai

"Bubble Below Boat Diving"

~10 person boat. Professional dive masters. Felt safe the entire dive. Had a great time, they pointed out a lot of interesting life. The boards they used to write out what type of critter we were looking at was really helpful. Would highly recommend this company for boat diving.... Show More Mar. 24, 2018

1 helpful review

51

Dive Flag Sheraton Caverns - Shore Dive, Kauai

"Sheraton Beach Dive"

Initially thought about swimming out to the caverns but it's a long way out. Easy entry depending on size of surf. Poor visibility, didn't see much. Went out about 300m and turned back. Water was stirred up. Not a great dive. Might be better if the surf was down. ~10 ft average depth, 72 f.... Show More Mar. 24, 2018

1 helpful review

51

Dive Flag Sheraton Caverns, Kauai

"Sheraton Caverns Boat Dive"

Great site! Fun swim throughs. Tends to be a busy spot - one of the more popular dive spots on the island. Lots of turtles hiding out in the caverns. Bandit butterfly, frog fish(!!!), unicorn, free swimming eels, starfish, rock mover, imperial nudibranch, bird wrasse, yellowtail coris. Max 60 ft, Ave 40 ft. 72 f.... Show More Mar. 24, 2018

0 helpful review

50

Dive Flag Tortuga, Kauai

"Tortuga Boat Dive"

Good dive. Several eels, some were free swimming. Turtles and a turtle cleaning station with 3 turtles being cleaned above us. The endemic Bandit Butterfly, octopus, crown of thorns, nudibranch, male spotted boxfish, peacock grouper. Max 50 ft, Ave. 35 ft, Visibility was okay but a bit murky after heavy rains.... Show More Mar. 24, 2018

0 helpful review

50

Dive Flag Poipu Beach Park, Kauai

"Poipu Beach shore dive"

Gave this site a chance early in the morning before the beach got too crowded. Flounder on the way out. Tried to get past the surf but the corral kept us shallow and there was surf so we ended up turning back early. Better snorkel spot than dive spot. Might be okay if the surf was down. Moorish idols, unicorns, surgeons.... Show More Mar. 24, 2018

1 helpful review

51

Dive Flag Prince Kuhio Park, Kauai

"Prince Kuhio shore dive"

Beginner/intermediate entry. Walk out on some rock corral and then step in. Fairly easy. Would recommend wearing water shoes to get in. Saw ~10 turtles! Lots of critters and lots of juvenile fish. 3 spot dascyllus juvenile was my favorite. White eels, cleaner shrimp, starfish, spotted box fish.... Show More Mar. 24, 2018

0 helpful review

50

Dive Flag Salt Pond, Kauai

"Salt Pond beach entry"

Entry from the far right side of the beach, then swim over/through some coral to get out. Fairly easy entry. Turtles, eels, spotted box fish, several wrasse and surgeon fish, lizard fish, ornamental butterfly, moorish idols, squirrelfish, scythe triggerfish, schools of french grunts, bird wrasse. Max depth ~20 ft., 15 ft average, 30 ft viability, 73f.... Show More Mar. 24, 2018

0 helpful review

50

Dive Flag Koloa Landing - Shore Dive, Kauai

"Koloa Landing Boat Ramp"

Dove this a couple times in March. Easy entry down a boat ramp, but can be a bit slippery. There are several directions you can go at this site. We tried going right and left along the corral. Descent viability ~20ft. Saw a variety of life: octopus, bluestriped lizardfish, ~10 eels of a variety of types, pyramid butterfly fish, a few huge turtles sleeping in the corral, scorpion fish. They say this is the only shore dive on Kauai. We put that to the test. We shore dove several other locations on the island. Our best shore dives apart from Koloa Landing were at Salt Pond and Prince Kuhio's (PK's). ... Show More Mar. 24, 2018

0 helpful review

50

Dive Flag Turtle Reef, Grand Cayman

"Turtle Reef / Macabuca (Left & Right)"

This site is right by Macabuca / Sundivers. We dove here twice and both were fantastic! I feel sorry for anyone who hasn't had the pleasure of diving this location! When going left, we swam through a large cave with tons of motionless tarpin. Saw lots of other marine life along the way. We had ave. depth 45' and max 60'. When going right we had similar depths and saw a ton of marine life: free swimming spotted eels, yellow ray, eagle ray, lobster, turtles, a big drum fish. Would highly recommend. Had a nice lunch onsite as well.... Show More Jun. 20, 2017

2 helpful review

52